Release id: 15/ 2014

Back to Press Room

03 November 2014 

REIL to install 1 MWp SPV Power Plant at Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Katra Railway Station, J&K


REIL has bagged a prestigious order from Northern Railway, Jammu for the turnkey project of 1 MWp Solar Plant at Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Katra Railway Station, J&K. The commencement of work for this project had been formally inaugurated by Shri Arunendra Kumar, Chairman, Raiway Board in the gracious presence of Shri A. K. Jain, Managing Director, REIL at Katra Station on 28th October, 2014.


On this occasion Shri A. K. Jain shared that while inaugurating the Rail Link project in July 2014, Hon’ble Prime Minister said that infrastructure is the key for development and had expressed his desire for providing a solar power plant at this Station as a green initiative under National Solar Mission. This step has been taken in the direction to have world class infrastructure at this station as it serves the purpose for the pilgrims to reach holy cave of Shri Mata Vaishno Devi from all part of the country. The Power Plant will be installed on roof shelters of platform and its buildings. Shri Jain informed that REIL is RDSO approved Solar Module Manufacturer. Shri Jain also informed that the solar plant will generate 14.6 Lac units in a year which will provide a saving of approx Rs. 1 Crore per year to Railways and will also provide 24 hrs power supply at the station. The power plant will help in annual reduction of 1400 tons of Carbon dioxide.


Shri Arunendra Kumar, Chairman, Railway Board congratulated Managing Director, REIL on award of this prestigious project and informed that such kind of project will be implemented on a large scale in Railways. He believes that this association between REIL & Railway will go long way in implementation of solar power projects for various applications in Railways.    


Shri A.K. Jain, Managing Director, REIL, thanked the Northern Railway for selecting REIL for this prestigious project. He also acknowledged the support and guidance of Ministry of New and Renewable Energy, Government of India.